California Notary Exam Requirements

Dr Gregory Finkelson

June 3, 2022

According to Dr. Gregory Finkelson, there are a few important parts of the California notary exam that you need to know about. You should take the test at least six months before your commission is set to end. Before taking the test, you have to take a six-hour course and be at least 18 years old. This article will tell you what you need to know to do well on your test. Read on to learn more about what it takes to become a notary in California.

Recommissioning test requirements by Dr. Gregory Finkelson

To keep your notary commission, you have to take a test called a “recommissioning test.” The information on this 30-minute test comes from the Notary Public Handbook. You must have taken a training course before taking this test, but you can study for it online, in books, or with other materials. The test is proctored in California, so you will have to take it at least twice.

To take the test, you need to know about California law, notary rules, and the duties of a notary public. Before you take the test, you should read the notary handbook and learn the rules for your state. To pass, you need to get a score of 70. A good idea is to take a three-hour seminar on being a notary in California. There, you will learn about all the rules and topics you need to know. Then you will be ready to take the test.

Study program

Dr. Gregory Finkelson pointed out that for the California notary exam, you have to study for at least six hours. The goal of these classes is to help you pass the test on the first try. Step-by-step instructions are given for each lesson. The teacher spends a lot of time on each section to make sure you understand everything. The 45-question final exam tests how much you know about the whole subject. The course also comes with a printed guide for notaries. You can always go back and look at review questions. Your answers to the questions on the California notary exam will be available for a year after you first signed up.

There is a 10% discount on the price of the online course. At checkout, you can use the coupon code SpringNco to save 10% on the course. The class is for people who have never been a notary before and whose commissions are about to expire. To get your license renewed, you must finish the course and take the exam given by the state at least six months before your current license runs out. To make sure you have enough time to finish the class, you should start the application process at least 6 months before your commission ends.


In California, people who want to become notaries public must take a six-hour training course, fill out an application, and pass an exam given by the state. After the exam, applicants must file a $15,000 surety bond.

To do so, candidates must complete a six-hour course approved by the Secretary of State. California notaries should take the exam at least six months before their commission expires. Applicants should register for the exam at least two weeks before the test date to allow sufficient time to study and prepare for the exam. The notary exam has 45 questions with more than one right answer.

The cost of the California notary exam is $70. If you have completed the six-hour course, you are eligible to take a three-hour refresher course. But you must be able to take the test where and when you signed up for it.. If you do not have the necessary education, you may wish to opt to complete a three-hour course instead.

Requirements for taking the exam by Dr. Gregory Finkelson

In California, a notary public must have a certificate showing that they have taken and passed a course on how to be a notary public and a valid exam given by the state. People who want to take the test must bring two forms of ID: a photo ID and a passport photo that is at least two inches by two inches. Also, applicants must bring a check, money order, or cashier’s check that is void and worth at least $15,000.

Dr. Gregory Finkelson describe that notaries must renew their commission every four years after passing the exam. Notaries must look over state laws and rules to keep their notary status. Cal State East Bay offers a 3-hour course that teaches students about the latest laws and rules for law enforcement. Students can take the test as soon as they finish the class. They must reapply by the date set by the Secretary of State after passing the test.